Make sure to have your SO Connect Listings information completed before Connecting to GMB and syncing your data across all platforms.
Whenever you have setup your SO Connect Listings account and have not connected Google My Business (GMB). Then the GMB account is not linked in any way and any changes made on the SO Connect Listings account are not reflected back to GMB even if changes are made.
In theory, you could have the SO Connect Listings service without ever linking your GMB account if you chose to do so.
If you then decide to link the GMB to SO Connect Listings, any changes made to the fields would overwrite those that are present in GMB. We would of course recommend that you make sure all of the information fields are completed within SO Connect Listings before connecting with the GMB account.
Make sure to Connect your GMB account > then hit the sync button to share your data across all online platforms.
Step 1: Connect GMB
Step 2: Sync your information
There should never be a case of duplication as we ask you to verify the GMB account you're linking to and the only time that we would create a public GMB account is if no previous GMB account for your location exists.
Photos are the only field that is exempt from this in that any additional images are added to their GMB account instead of overwriting any previous uploads.
We have written an article about connecting your GMB account, you can find it here: How to connect your Google My Business account with Listings